RECKLESS DRIVING TICKET IN VIRGINIA
WHAT DOES A RECKLESS DRIVING TICKET IN VIRGINIA MEAN?
A reckless driving ticket in Virginia is first and foremost a criminal offense. Yes, it is hard to believe, but reckless driving in Virginia is a class 1 misdemeanor.
Virginia is one of the states that severely punish reckless driving. If you are in Virginia, make sure that you do not go over speed while driving. The reckless driving means that you are driving 20 Mph more than the speed limit. Or it is also driving over 80 Mph. So, if you drive more than 80 Mph, you will have it face reckless driving charges in Virginia. If the traffic sign says, the speed limit is 40 Mph, and you are driving at 60 Mph on that road, you will have to face reckless driving charges. The reckless driving Virginia charges are quite harsh. If you are in such trouble and want to get away with it, you should hire an expert traffic attorney. Only an attorney will help you face fewer charges for your reckless driving. He may not save 100% charges if you commit the offense, but he may help you get fewer charges and not add demerit points to your traffic profile.
The reckless driving laws and punishments
In the state of Virginia, you will be guilty of reckless driving if you are driving any vehicle on any highway in a manner which is dangerous for others lives, or property shall receive a penalty for reckless driving. A person is also guilty of reckless driving if he drives more than 80 Mph on any road or crosses 20 Mph more than the speed limit.
If any person falls into such category, he will have to face charges of reckless driving. In Virginia reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor. For this type of offense, you can go to jail. Usually, the punishment for reckless driving is a fine and in addition to the demerit points.
The charges that you may face are adding demerit points, a fine of $2500, suspension of the driver’s license, and 12 months in jail. The punishment depends on the severity of the offense.
Hiring a traffic lawyer
Hiring a traffic lawyer for reckless driving Virginia charges against you is a good idea. With such severe punishments, you may end up having your license suspended or go to jail for 12 months. These are the maximum penalties that you can get. If you hire a lawyer, he can help you with your case and ensure that you do not receive the maximum penalty. Many people who come home after driving come to know that they were part of a crime. In such situations when you do not know what to do, having a lawyer seems the best option. If you are in Virginia, you should take help from us at Law offices of SRIS P.C. The lawyers we have are trustworthy, reliable and experienced. We deal with traffic offense cases and reckless driving cases which makes us a specialist. You can rely on our services to help you get out of the problems.
Our Virginia reckless driving attorneys assist clients throughout Virginia, including but not limited to:
If you need the help of a lawyer in VA with this type of a case in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William (Manassas), Fauquier (Warrenton), Loudoun (Leesburg), Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren (Front Royal), Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock or York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
Reckless Driving Laws VIrginia